2019 Inventor of the Year2019-11-01T15:42:21+00:00

2019 Inventor of the Year — December 12, 2019

Since 1976, RIPLA has recognized as “Distinguished Inventor of the Year” an individual or team of individuals from the local community for their contributions to the useful arts. The RIPLA Distinguished Inventor of the Year award winners represent a wide cross-section of fields of endeavor — from academia and independent entrepreneurial efforts to Fortune 500 corporate research and development organizations.

With Master of Ceremonies
Zosan Soong
Senior Patent Counsel, Xerox

And Keynote Address by
Jude S. Sauer, M.D.
President & CEO, LSI Solutions

December 12, 2019 from 3:30 to 7:30 p.m.

3:30–4:00pm — CLE Registration
4:00–5:00pm — CLE Program
5:00–6:00pm — Networking (Cocktails and Hors d’oeuvres)
6:00–7:30pm — IOY Ceremony

Casa Larga Vineyards

Per person: $40 | Pay Now

Reservation of one table seating eight with sponsorship recognition:
$500.00 | Pay Now

Send completed registration form to Bryan Smith at smithbc@pepperlaw.com

Mail check and completed registration form to Bryan Smith at:

Pepper Hamilton LLP
70 Linden Oaks, Suite 210
Rochester, New York 14625


Reservations should be received on or before December 4, 2019.

Note: Either payment method may be used for individual or table registrations.
Please provide your corporate logo when purchasing a table. Multiple “per person” registrations may be made by check only.


Tara Astigarraga
Senior Technical Staff Member, Master Inventor
IBM Research, Hybrid Cloud Services

Peter Dillon and Albert Brault
Kodak Research Laboratories

Diane M Herrick
Project Management, EPS Engineering & Service, Print Systems Division
Eastman Kodak Company


Donna Suchy
Managing Counsel, Intellectual Property
Collins Aerospace

Dr. Omar Aljitawi, M.D.
Associate Professor
University of Rochester Medical Center

Dr. Michael Kurdziel
Director and Chief Engineer, Systems and Technology
Communication Systems/L3Harris Technologies

Michael Soures
Technical Specialist Project Manager


Erwin Ruiz
Sr. Systems Engineer
Xerox Corporation

Dr. Richard Moore, M.D.
Professor and Director of the Gynecologic Oncology Division


Rakesh Singh, Ph.D., M. Phil
Research Associate Professor
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of Rochester

Dr. Yi-Tao Yu, Ph.D.
Dean’s Professorship, Professor Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
University of Rochester