Inventor of the Year2021-11-09T18:27:35+00:00

Inventor of the Year

Since 1973, the Rochester Intellectual Property Law Association has each year recognized as “Distinguished Inventor of the Year” an individual or team of individuals from the local community for their contributions to the useful arts. Nominations for this award come from the RIPLA membership, in response to a call for nominations published annually in the Fall of the preceding year. The RIPLA Distinguished Inventor of the Year award winners represent a wide cross-section of fields of endeavor – from academia and independent entrepreneurial efforts to fortune 500 corporate research and development organizations. The award winners make up a virtual “who’s who” in innovation in the Rochester area.

Past Recipients of the RIPLA Distinguished Inventor of the Year Award:

2019 Tara Astigarraga and Dr. Michael Kurdziel  |  See 2019 Inventor of the Year Event Details

Master of Ceremonies: Zosan Soong, Senior Patent Counsel, Xerox
Keynote Speaker: Jude S. Sauer, M.D., President & CEO, LSI Solutions

2018 Bruce Smith, Ph.D. |  See 2018 Inventor of the Year Event Details

Master of Ceremonies: Maureen McGuire, Co-anchor of News 8 at WROC-TV Channel 8
Keynote Speaker: Dr. David C. Munson, President, Rochester Institute of Technology

2017 Terry L. Wright  |  See 2017 Inventor of the Year Event Details

Master of Ceremonies: Mark Cuddy, Artistic Director of Geva Theatre Center
Keynote Speaker: Tom Battley, Executive Director of the Rochester Regional Photonics Cluster and New York Photonics

2016 Dr. Shelby Nelson, Dr. Lee Tutt and Dr. David A. Borkholder  |  See 2016 Inventor of the Year Details

Master of Ceremonies: Jennifer Johnson, News anchor for 13 WHAM ABC
Keynote Speaker: Richard Notargiacomo, Director, New Ventures and Commercialization at the Venture Creations Incubator, RIT

2015 Dr. Ruola Ning and Dr. Herman Stadfeld  |  See 2015 Inventor of the Year Details

Master of Ceremonies: Norma Holland, news anchor for 13 WHAM ABC and WUHF Fox Rochester
Keynote Speaker: Robert Duffy, president and CEO, Rochester Business Alliance, and former New York Lieutenant Governor and Rochester Mayor

2014 Dr. Donald S. Rimai

2013 Ervin Goldfain

2012 James E. McGarvey

2011 Dr. Grazyna Kmiecik-Lawrynowicz

2010 Dr. James D. Felske, Dr. James F. Garvey, Dr. John A. Lordi and Dr. Joseph C. Mollendorf

2009 Steven J. Sasson and Gareth A. Lloyd

2008 Paul Contestable, Philip Hosimer and Skip Warren

2007 Dr. Stephen Dertinger, Dorothea Torous, and Dr. Andrew Tometsko

2006 Dr. Robert Rose, Dr. William Bonnez and Dr. Richard Reichman

2005 Dr. John F. Hamilton Jr. and Mr. James E. Adams Jr.

2004 Mr. Fredrick J. Buja

2003 Dr. Jude Sauer

2002 Steven Van Slyke and Ching Tang

2001 Mr. Vernon E. Gleasman

2000 Dr. Joe E. Maskasky

1999 Dr. Robert C. U. Yu

1998 Mr. William C. Atkinson, Mr. Robert P. Cloutier, Mr. Michael L. Wash and Mr. Arthur A. Whitfield

1997 Dr. Santokh S. Badesha

1996 Dr. Derek D. Chapman and Dr. Steven Evans

1995 Dr. Damodar M. Pai, Dr. Milan Stolka and Mr. John F. Yanus

1994 Dr. Porter W. Anderson and Dr. Ronald J. Eby

1993 Dr. Duncan T. Moore

1992 Dr. Klaus Gueldenpfenning

1991 Dr. Robert E. Booms and Dr. James T. Kofron

1990 Dr. Robert J. Gruber

1989 Dr. Ronald J. Weetman

1988 Mr. Matthew J. Russel

1987 Mr. Joseph Mammino

1986 Mr. James D. Rees

1985 Mr. Donald D. Stoltman

1984 Mr. Donald Harvey

1983 Mr. Erwin J. Nunlist

1982 Dr. Arnold Weissberger

1981 Dr. Max M. Boudakian

1980 Mr. John H. Auer, Jr

1979 Dr. Andrew S. Kende

1978 Dr. W. Alan Burris

1977 Dr. Wesley T. Hanson, Jr

1976 Mr. Ernest Wildhaber

1975 Dr. Kenneth Hickman

1974 Mr. Robert W. Gundlach

1973 Dr. John V. Bouyoucos